Latest News

May 15, 2015

Mark Billingham longlisted for CWA 2015 Dagger In The Library Award

Delighted to share that Mark Billingham has been longlisted for the CWA 2015 Dagger in the Library Award. This award is given for an author’s whole body of work, rather than a single title. It is a huge honour and we couldn’t possibly think of anyone more deserving of a nomination! Congraulations, Mark! Read more here.

May 15, 2015

Claire Fuller’s debut novel OUR ENDLESS NUMBERED DAYS shortlisted for Desmond Elliott Prize 2015

So pleased to announce that Claire Fuller’s unforgettable debut, ‘Our Endless Numbered Days’ has been shortlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2015, described as the “most prestigious award for first-time novelists”. Congratulations, Claire! Read more here.

May 14, 2015

Yotam Ottolenghi and Meera Sodha shortlisted for Guild Of Food Writers Awards 2015

Excited to reveal that both Yotam Ottolenghi and Meera Sodha have been shortlisted for the Guild of Food Writers Awards 2015. Yotam has been shortlisted for his work in the Guardian Weekend magazine in the Evelyn Rose Award for Cookery Journalist of the Year category. Meera has been shortlised in the Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book category, for her cookbook, ‘Made in India’. Congratulations, both! Read more here.

May 11, 2015

FEVER AT DAWN by Péter Gárdos acquired by Jane Lawson at Transworld

‘Fever at Dawn’, inspired by the relationship between the author’s parents will be published by Transworld in early 2016. Just after Gárdos’ father died in 1998, his mother gave him a pack of letters written in the months after the Holocaust which revealed their love story. He took the next 10 years to turn the story into a book, which was originally published by Hungarian publisher Libri. Rights were acquired by Jane Lawson from Sarah Lutyens on behalf of Michael Heyward of Text Publishing. Gárdos is currently directing a film adaption of the story, which will be released in 2016. Read more here.

May 6, 2015

TROUBLE shortlisted for Branford Boase Award

All at L&R would like to wish a massive congratulations to Non Pratt whose debut novel ‘Trouble’ has been shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award! The Branford Boase Award is given annually to the author and editor of an outstanding debut novel for children. ‘Trouble’ was edited by Annalie Grainger and Denise Johnstone-Burt of Walker Books. Congratulations, all

May 5, 2015

DARKNESS, DARKNESS and the AXEMAN’S JAZZ longlisted for Theakstons’s Old Peculier Crime Novel Of The Year Award

All at L&R would like to wish a massive congratulations to John Harvey, author of ‘Darkness, Darkness’ and Ray Celestin, author of ‘The Axeman’s Jazz’ which have been longlisted for Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. We are so thrilled for you both! Read more here.

May 5, 2015

DARKNESS, DARKNESS named one of the year’s best crime novels

John Harvey’s fantastic novel ‘Darkness, Darkness’, published in May 2014 has been hailed one of the year’s best crime novels – we are so thrilled and couldn’t agree more! Congratulations, John! Read more here.

April 30, 2015

Two more titles by Non Pratt acquired by Walker

Walker Books has acquired two more titles by the wonderful and YA Book Prize shortlisted author Non Pratt. The first will be called ‘Truth or Dare’. Commissioning Editor Annalie Grainger said “Truth or Dare is going to be a wonderful novel – true to Non’s distinctive voice and style. Her teenagers are so real.” Rights were acquired from Jane Finigan of L&R on Non’s behalf. Read more here.

April 27, 2015

Rebecca Hunt’s EVERLAND shortlisted for The Encore Award

Thrilled to announce that Rebecca Hunt’s fantastic second novel, ‘Everland’ has been shortlisted for the Encore Award 2015. ‘Everland’ follows ‘three researchers [who] travel to a spot on an unknown island in the Antarctic a century after three men visited the same place and unknowingly echoing history’. Congratulations, Rebecca! Read more here.

April 22, 2015

BBC commission Mark Billingham adaptation

All at L&R are thrilled to share news of two TV adaptations by the BBC of Mark Billingham’s 2008 novel, ‘In the Dark’, published by Sphere, and ‘Time of Death’ published by Little, Brown. BBC Drama North is adapting both books. ‘Filming will begin early next year and both series will launch in autumn 2016. No casting details have been revealed yet.’ Looking forward to hearing more. Read more here and watch Mark talking about this exciting new adaptation on BBC Breakfast here. Congratulations, Mark!

Recent Tweets

Latest Tweets