Page 1 of 48

Cressida Connolly’s AFTER THE PARTY longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize

In Literary News by Hana0 Comments

AFTER THE PARTY, by Cressida Connolly, has been longlisted for the 2019 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction. The prize, now in its tenth year, celebrates fiction in which the majority of the storyline takes place at least sixty years ago. Connolly’s novel delves into Oswald Mosley’s 1930s fascist Britain, to tell a story of political turmoil and one woman’s long-held guilt. The winner will be announced at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland in June. The full Bookseller announcement can be read here.

About Amaryllis


Amaryllis is our bookshop blogger.


Her pen name is taken from Alice Thomas Ellis’ Other Side of the Fire, which is unfortunately and scandalously out of print. One of the funniest bits in the book is the bodice-ripper that one of the characters is writing and the female - who slays the men with one toss of her raven locks and one glance from her fiery green eyes as she strides among the glens, faithful wolfhound by her side - is Amaryllis! And the name just seemed to suit so here we are.

Latest Instagram