Maggie-o-farrell
Philippe SandsMaggie-o-farrell

Maggie O’Farrell in Conversation – September 4th

£5.00£25.00

Clear

Product Description

Monday 4th September, 7pm (£25 with book / £10 / £5 Students)
I am, I am, I am: Seventeen Brushes with Death
Maggie O’Farrell in Conversation with Philippe Sands

 
I Am, I Am, I Am is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O’Farrell’s electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild or Joan Didion’s A Year Of Magical Thinking.
 
A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I Am, I Am, I Am is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.
 
Maggie O’Farrell is the author of seven novels, including The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award and most recently This Must Be The Place, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.
 
Philippe Sands QC is Professor of Law at University College London and a practising barrister at Matrix Chambers. His most recent book East West Street won the 2016 Baillie Gifford prize for Non-fiction.

Additional Information

Tickets

Book & Ticket, Ticket, Student Concession